Kids

The Aldrich Contemporary Art Museum, 258 Main St., Ridgefield, Conn. www.thealdrich.org 

Amenia Free Library, 3309 Route 343, Amenia, N.Y. www.amenialibrary.org 
Story Hour with Ms. Beth, Mondays and Thursdays, 10:30 a.m.

Lego Club, Thursdays, 3 to 4:30 p.m.

American Mural Project, 90 Whiting St., Winsted, Conn. www.americanmuralproject.org
Teen Art Studio @AMP, Second Saturdays of the month, 10:30 a.m. to 12:30 a.m.

ASAP!, 6 Bee Brook Road, Unit B, Washington Depot, Conn. www.asapct.org 

Bardavon, 35 Market St., Poughkeepsie, N.Y. www.bardavon.org

Barrington Stage Company, 122 North St., Pittsfield, Mass. www.barringtonstageco.org 

Beardsley Library, 40 Munro Place, Winsted, Conn. www.beardsleylibrary.org
Story Time, Wednesdays, 10:45 to 11:45 a.m.

Berkshire Art Center, 13 Willard Hill Road, Stockbridge, Mass. www.berkshireartcenter.org 
Parent's Night Out (with Childcare), every second Friday of every month, 6 to 8 p.m.

After-School Art Club - "Identity: Me & My World" (for Elementary Age Students), Fridays Oct. 6 to Dec. 15, 3:45 to 5:15 p.m.

Berkshire Bach Society, Great Barrington, Mass. www.berkshirebach.org 

Berkshire Botanical Garden, 5 West Stockbridge Road, Stockbridge, Mass. www.berkshirebotanical.org 

Berkshire Lyric Chorus, Pittsfield, Mass. www.berkshirelyric.org 

Berkshire Museum, 39 South St. (Route 7), Pittsfield, Mass. www.berkshiremuseum.org 
Meet a Friend: Animal Ambassador Spotlight, Fridays, 11:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.

Mummy-side Chats, Wednesdays, 2 to 3 p.m.

Berkshire Theatre Groupwww.berkshiretheatregroup.org 

Bridging Divides, Healing Communities Youth Film Challenge, www.berkshirefilm.org/youth-film-challenge/ 

Bushnell-Sage Library, 48 Main St., Sheffield, Mass. www.bushnellsagelibrary.org 
LEGO® Construction Zone, Thursdays, 3:30 to 4:30 p.m.

Sing & Dance with South Berkshire Kids, Tuesdays, 10:30 to 11:30 a.m.

The Center on Main, 103 Main St., Falls Village, Conn. www.thefvct.org/center-on-main 

The Clark Art Museum, 225 South St., Williamstown, Mass. www.clarkart.edu
Kids Can Cook!, Dec. 29, 11 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.

Claverack Free Library, 629 NY-23B, Claverack, N.Y. www.claveracklibrary.org 
Preschool Story Hour, Tuesdays, 10 to 11 a.m.

Enrichment Tuesdays, Tuesdays, 1 p.m.

LEGO Club, Wednesdays, 4 p.m.

Cornell Cooperative Extension of Renssalaer County, 99 Troy Road, East Greenbush, N.Y., rensselaer.cce.cornell.edu

The Cornwall Library, 30 Pine St., Cornwall, Conn. www.cornwalllibrary.org 
Children's Drop-in Playgroup, Wednesdays, 10:30 a.m.

Afterschool Art Program, Thursdays, 3:30 to 5 p.m.

D. M. Hunt Library, 63 Main Street, Falls Village, Conn. www.huntlibrary.org 
Story Time With Rita, Tuesdays and Thursdays, 10:30 to 11:30 a.m.

Douglas Library, 108 Main St., Canaan, Conn. www.douglaslibrarycanaan.org
Story Hour with Cindy, Fridays, 10:30 a.m.

Dutchess County Fairgrounds, 6636 U.S. 9, Rhinebeck, N.Y. www.thewonderlandoflights.com 

Five Points Center for the Visual Arts, 855 University Dr., Torrington, Conn. www.fivepointsarts.org 

Great Barrington Libraries, Great Barrington, Mass. www.gblibraries.org 
Play & Learn with Kim, Mondays and Wednesdays, 10 to 11:30 a.m.

Crafty Saturdays!, Saturdays, 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Babytime!, Tuesdays, 10:30 to 11:30 a.m.

Summertime Brain Builders, Tuesdays, 10:30 to 11:30 a.m.

Grumbling Gryphons Traveling Children's Theaterwww.grumblinggryphons.org 

Hancock Shaker Village, 1843 West Housatonic St., Pittsfield, Mass. www.hancockshakervillage.org

The Hickory Stick Bookshop, 2 Green Hill Road, Washington Depot, Conn. www.hickorystickbookshop.com 

Hotchkiss Library of Sharon, 10 Upper Main St., Sharon, Conn. www.hotchkisslibrary.org 

Hotchkiss School, 11 Interlaken Road, Lakeville, Conn. www.hotchkiss.org

House of Books, 4 N. Main St., Kent, Conn. www.houseofbooksct.com 

Hudson Hall, 327 Warren St, Hudson, N.Y. www.hudsonhall.org

Innisfree Garden, 362 Tyrrel Road, Millbrook, N.Y. www.innisfreegarden.org 

The Institute for American Indian Studies Museum & Research Center, 38 Curtis Road, Washington, Conn. www.iaismuseum.org
Winter in the Woodlands: Games, Crafts and Activities, Dec. 28 and 29, 9:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.

Jewish Federation of the Berkshires, Pittsfield, Mass. www.jewishberkshires.org 

The Judy Black Memorial Park and Gardens, 1 Green Hill Road, Washington, Conn. www.thejudyblackparkandgardens.org 

Kaatsbaan Cultural Park, 120 Broadway, Tivoli, N.Y. www.kaatsbaan.org 

Kent Barns, Kent, Conn. www.kentbarnsct.com 

Kent Memorial Library, 32 N. Main St., Kent, Conn. www.kentmemoriallibrary.org 

KidsPlay Children's Museum, 61 Main St., Torrington, Conn. www.kidsplaymuseum.org 
Tales with Humphry, Saturdays, 11 a.m. to noon.

Mahaiwe Performing Arts Center, 14 Castle St., Great Barrington, Mass. www.mahaiwe.org 

MASS MoCA, 1320 MASS MoCA Way, North Adams, Mass. www.massmoca.org 

Mattatuck Museum, 144 West Main St. Waterbury, Conn. www.mattmuseum.org 
Teen Time, Wednesdays, 2:30 to 4 p.m.

Merritt Bookstore, 57 Front St., Millbrook N.Y. www.merrittbooks.com 

Millbrook Arts Group, Millbrook, N.Y. www.millbrookartsgroup.org 

Millbrook Free Library, 3 Friendly Lane, Millbrook, N.Y. www.millbrooklibrary.org
Baby & Young Toddler Storytime, Tuesdays and Thursdays, 11 to 11:30 a.m.

Preschool Storytime, Tuesdays and Thursdays, 4 to 4:30 p.m.

Playtime Meet-Up!, Thursdays, 11:30 to noon.

The Mount, 2 Plunkett St., Lenox, Mass. www.edithwharton.org 

Norfolk Hub, 2 Station Place, Norfolk, Conn. www.norfolkfoundation.net/norfolk-hub 

Norfolk Library, 9 Greenwoods Road East, Norfolk, Conn. www.norfolklibrary.org 
Corner Club, after school during the school year, registration required, children may take a bus from Botelle Elementary and they must be picked up by 5 p.m.

Merrymakers Storytime (for children in 1st and 2nd grades), registration required, Mondays, 3:45 to 5 p.m.

Wee Ones Lunch Bunch, Mondays, registration required, 12:15 p.m.

Norman Rockwell Museum, 9 Glendale Road, Stockbridge, Mass. www.nrm.org 
Family Activities – Storytime in the “Leo Lionni” Galleries, Dec. 26, 28, 29, 11 a.m., noon, 1 p.m., 2 p.m.

Family Activities – Holiday Imagi-Nation!, Dec. 26, 28, 29, 11 a.m. to 2 p.m.

NorthEast-Millerton Library, 75 Main St., Millerton N.Y. www.nemillertonlibrary.org 
Story Time With Ms. Lynn, Saturdays, 11 a.m.

Teen Dungeons & Dragons, Fridays, 4:30 p.m.

Baby & Young Toddler Story Time, Wednesdays, 11 to 11:40 a.m.

Drop Everything And Read, Wednesdays, 4 to 5 p.m.

Northwest CT Rod & Gun Club, 148 South Canaan Road, North Canaan, Conn. nwctrgclub.clubexpress.com 

Oblong Books & Music, 26 Main St., Millerton, N.Y. www.oblongbooks.com 

Pine Plains Free Library, 7775 South Main, Pine Plains, N.Y. www.pineplainslibrary.org
Story and Create Time with Ms. Samantha!, Wednesdays, 10 to 11 a.m.

Saturday Story Time with Molly, Saturdays, 10 to 11 a.m.

Maker & Play Time, Thursdays, 4:30 to 6 p.m.

Kids Game Night/Movie Night, Tuesdays, 4:30 to 5:30 p.m.

Teen Night, Wednesdays, 4 to 6 p.m.

Mid-Hudson Youth Writers, Fridays, 4:45 to 6 p.m. (in person and online).

PS21 Chatham, 2980 Route 66, Chatham, N.Y. www.ps21chatham.org 

Roeliff Jansen Library, 9091 Route 22, Hillsdale, N.Y. www.roejanlibrary.org 
Farm Market Kids, Saturdays, 10 a.m. to noon.

Playtime with Tia, Wednesdays, 10:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.

Scoville Memorial Library, 38 Main St., Salisbury, Conn. www.scovillelibrary.org
Friends & Family Storytime, Wednesdays, 10:30 a.m.

Sharon Audubon Center, 325 Cornwall Bridge Road, Sharon, Conn. sharon.audubon.org 

Sharon Historical Society, 18 Main St., Sharon, Conn. www.sharonhist.org 

Sharon Playhouse, 49 Amenia Road, Sharon, Conn. www.sharonplayhouse.org 

Spencertown Academy Arts, 790 State Route 203, Spencertown, N.Y. www.spencertownacademy.org 

Stanford Free Library, 6035 Route 82, Stanfordville, N.Y. www.stanfordlibrary.org
Preschool Storytime, Tuesday mornings, Preschoolers (3 – 4 years old) 10 to 10:45 a.m., Toddlers (18 months – 2 years old) 11 to 11:45 a.m.

Homeschool Stories and STEAM Workshops - Students in Grades K – 2, Thursdays, 1 to 2 p.m.

The Stissing Center, 2950 Church St., Pine Plains, N.Y. www.thestissingcenter.org 

Ventfort Hall Mansion and Guilded Age Museum, 104 Walker St., Lenox, Mass. www.gildedage.org 

Wadsworth Atheneum Museum of Art, 600 Main St., Hartford, Conn. www.thewadsworth.org 

Warner Theatre, 68 Main St., Torrington, Conn. www.warnertheatre.org 

Wassaic Project, 37 Furnace Bank Road, Wassaic, N.Y. www.wassaicproject.org 

Woodstock Artists Association & Museum, 28 Tinker St., Woodstock, N.Y. www.woodstockart.org 

Latest News

Thru hikers linked by life on the Appalachian Trail

Riley Moriarty

Provided

Of thousands who attempt to walk the entire length of the Appalachian Trail, only one in four make it.

The AT, completed in 1937, runs over roughly 2,200 miles, from Springer Mountain in Georgia’s Chattahoochee-Oconee National Forest to Mount Katahdin in Baxter State Park of Maine.

Keep ReadingShow less
17th Annual New England Clambake: a community feast for a cause

The clambake returns to SWSA's Satre Hill July 27 to support the Jane Lloyd Fund.

Provided

The 17th Annual Traditional New England Clambake, sponsored by NBT Bank and benefiting the Jane Lloyd Fund, is set for Saturday, July 27, transforming the Salisbury Winter Sports Association’s Satre Hill into a cornucopia of mouthwatering food, live music, and community spirit.

The Jane Lloyd Fund, now in its 19th year, is administered by the Berkshire Taconic Community Foundation and helps families battling cancer with day-to-day living expenses. Tanya Tedder, who serves on the fund’s small advisory board, was instrumental in the forming of the organization. After Jane Lloyd passed away in 2005 after an eight-year battle with cancer, the family asked Tedder to help start the foundation. “I was struggling myself with some loss,” said Tedder. “You know, you get in that spot, and you don’t know what to do with yourself. Someone once said to me, ‘Grief is just love with no place to go.’ I was absolutely thrilled to be asked and thrilled to jump into a mission that was so meaningful for the community.”

Keep ReadingShow less
Getting to know our green neighbors

Cover of "The Light Eaters" by Zoe Schlanger.

Provided

This installment of The Ungardener was to be about soil health but I will save that topic as I am compelled to tell you about a book I finished exactly three minutes before writing this sentence. It is called “The Light Eaters.” Written by Zoe Schlanger, a journalist by background, the book relays both the cutting edge of plant science and the outdated norms that surround this science. I promise that, in reading this book, you will be fascinated by what scientists are discovering about plants which extends far beyond the notions of plant communication and commerce — the wood wide web — that soaked into our consciousnesses several years ago. You might even find, as I did, some evidence for the empathetic, heart-expanding sentiment one feels in nature.

A staff writer for the Atlantic who left her full-time job to write this book, Schlanger has travelled around the world to bring us stories from scientists and researchers that evidence sophisticated plant behavior. These findings suggest a kind of plant ‘agency’ and perhaps even a consciousness; controversial notions that some in the scientific community have not been willing or able to distill into the prevailing human-centric conceptions of intelligence.

Keep ReadingShow less