Miscellany

Amenia Conservation Advisory Council, Amenia, N.Y.

American Museum of Tort Law, 654 Main St, Winsted, Conn. www.tortmuseum.org 
Now open, Fridays from noon to 5 p.m., Saturdays from noon to 5 p.m., and Sundays from noon to 4 p.m.

Bantam Cinema & Arts Center, 115 Bantam Lake Rd. Bantam, Conn. www.bantamcinema.org 

Barrington Stage Company, 122 North St., Pittsfield, Mass. www.barringtonstageco.org 

Beardsley Library, 40 Munro Place, Winsted, Conn. www.beardsleylibrary.org
Mahjong Club, Tuesdays, 12:30 to 3:30 p.m.

Berkshire Botanical Garden, 5 West Stockbridge Road, Stockbridge, Mass. www.berkshirebotanical.org 
Chainsaw Maintenance, Dec. 16, 1 to 5 p.m.

Four Seasons of Tree Identification, Dec. 16, 9 a.m. to 12 p.m.

Berkshire Community Land Trust, www.berkshirecommunitylandtrust.org 

Berkshire Museum, 39 South St. (Route 7), Pittsfield, Mass. www.berkshiremuseum.org 

Bidwell House Museum, 100 Art School Road, Monterey, Mass. www.bidwellhousemuseum.org 

Bushnell-Sage Library, 48 Main St., Sheffield, Mass. www.bushnellsagelibrary.org
Insight Meditation in the Berkshires Weekly Practice Group, Fridays, 5:30 to 6:30 p.m.

Canaan Seventh-day Adventist Church, 7 Sand Road, Canaan, Conn.

Cary Institute of Ecosystem Studies, Millbrook, N.Y. www.caryinstitute.org

Charlotte's Restaurant, 4258 Route 44, Millbrook, N.Y. www.charlottesny.com 

Chore Service, 15 Academy St., Unit 6, Salisbury, Conn. www.choreservice.org 

Christ Church Episcopal, 9 South Main St., Sharon, Conn.

Church of Christ Mount Washington, 428 East St., Mount Washington, Mass. www.churchofchristmtwashington.org 

The Clark Art Museum, 225 South St., Williamstown, Mass. www.clarkart.edu 

Claverack Free Library, 629 NY-23B, Claverack, N.Y. www.claveracklibrary.org 

Climate Smart Millerton, Millerton, N.Y. www.climatesmartmillerton.org 

The Congregational Church of Salisbury, UCC, 30 Main St., Salisbury, Conn. www.salisburycongregationalchurch.org 

Connecticut Antique Machinery Association, 31 Kent-Cornwall Road, Kent, Conn. www.ctamachinery.com 

Copake Grange, 628 Empire Road, Copake, N.Y. www.copakegrange.org

Cornell Cooperative Extension of Renssalaer County, 99 Troy Road, East Greenbush, N.Y., rensselaer.cce.cornell.edu 

Cornwall Conservation Trust, Cornwall, Conn. www.cornwallconservationtrust.org

Cornwall Fire Department, 289 Sharon Goshen Tpke, West Cornwall, Conn.

The Cornwall Library, 30 Pine St., Cornwall, Conn. www.cornwalllibrary.org 

The Cornwall Woman’s Society, Cornwall, Conn.

D. M. Hunt Library, 63 Main Street, Falls Village, Conn. www.huntlibrary.org

Danbury Railway Museum, 120 White St., Danbury, Conn. www.danburyrail.org

Douglas Library, 108 Main St., Canaan, Conn. www.douglaslibrarycanaan.org 
Scrabble Night, Mondays, 6:15 to 8 p.m.

Falls Village Depot Museum, 44 Railroad St., Falls Village, Conn. 
Steve Blass Exhibit at Falls Village-Canaan Historical Society, now on view.

Falls Village Equity Project, Falls Village, Conn. www.canaanfallsvillage.org/resource/falls-village-equity-group 

Falls Village Scholarship Fund, Lee H. Kellogg School, 47 Main St., Falls Village, Conn.

Four Brothers Drive-In Theatre, 4957 NY-22, Amenia, N.Y. www.playeatdrink.com 

Gedney Farm, 34 Hartsville-New Marlboro Road, New Marlborough, Mass. www.gedneyfarm.com 

Great Barrington Farmers Market, 18 Church St., Great Barrington, Mass. www.greatbarringtonfarmersmarket.org 
Closed for the season.

Great Barrington Libraries, Great Barrington, Mass. www.gblibraries.org 

Great Falls Brewing Company, 1 Railroad Plaza, Canaan, Conn. www.greatfallsbrews.com 
Dart Tournament, Mondays, 6 to 9 p.m.

Great Mountain Forest, Falls Village, Conn. www.greatmountainforest.org 

Habitat for Humanity of Northwest Connecticutwww.habitatnwct.org 

Hancock Shaker Village, 1843 West Housatonic St., Pittsfield, Mass. www.hancockshakervillage.org

Hollister House Garden, 300 Nettleton Hollow Road, Washington, Conn. www.hollisterhousegarden.org

Hotchkiss Library of Sharon, 10 Upper Main St., Sharon, Conn. www.hotchkisslibrary.org

Housatonic Child Care Center, Salisbury, Conn.

Housatonic Heritage, Salisbury, Conn. www.housatonicheritage.org 

Housatonic Valley Association, www.hvatoday.org 

Hudson Hall, 327 Warren St, Hudson, N.Y. www.hudsonhall.org 

Innisfree Garden, 362 Tyrrel Road, Millbrook, N.Y. www.innisfreegarden.org 

The Institute for American Indian Studies Museum & Research Center, 38 Curtis Road, Washington, Conn. www.iaismuseum.org
Winter Moon Walk, Dec. 26, 6 to 8 p.m.

Jewish Federation of the Berkshires, Pittsfield, Mass. www.jewishberkshires.org 

The Judy Black Memorial Park and Gardens, 1 Green Hill Road, Washington, Conn. www.thejudyblackparkandgardens.org

Kaatsbaan Cultural Park, 120 Broadway, Tivoli, N.Y. www.kaatsbaan.org 

Kent Barns, Kent, Conn. www.kentbarnsct.com 
ORE HILL TEA TASTINGS, second Sundays of the month, 5 p.m.

Kent Historical Society, Kent, Conn. www.kenthistoricalsociety.org 

Kent Memorial Library, 32 N. Main St., Kent, Conn. www.kentmemoriallibrary.org 
Young Patron Board Game Night (ages 21-30), every third Thursday of the month, 7 p.m.

Kent Pumpkin Run, Kent, Conn. www.kentpumpkinrun.com

Lime Rock Park, 60 White Hollow Road, Lime Rock, Conn. www.limerock.com 

Lone Oak Campsites, 360 Norfolk Road, East Canaan, Conn. www.loneoakcampsites.com

Mahaiwe Performing Arts Center, 14 Castle St., Great Barrington, Mass. www.mahaiwe.org 

MASS MoCA, 1320 MASS MoCA Way, North Adams, Mass. www.massmoca.org 

Mattatuck Museum, 144 West Main St. Waterbury, Conn. www.mattmuseum.org

Millbrook Educational Foundation, Millbrook, N.Y. www.millbrookeducationalfoundation.org 

Millbrook Library, 3 Friendly Lane, Millbrook, N.Y. www.millbrooklibrary.org 
Tech Help, Fridays, 4:30 to 6 p.m.

Senior Exercise Program, Tuesdays and Thursdays, 9 a.m.

Computer Lab: All About Zoom, Dec. 19, 11:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.

Mohawk Mountain Ski Area, 46 Great Hollow Road, Cornwall, Conn. www.mohawkmtn.com

The Mount, 2 Plunkett St., Lenox, Mass. www.edithwharton.org 

The Moviehouse, 48 Main St., Millerton, N.Y. www.themoviehouse.net 
Movie Trivia Night, last Tuesday of the month, 7 p.m.

New England Accordion Connection & Museum, 75 Main St., Canaan, Conn. www.newenglandaccordionconnectionandmuseumcompany.com 

Noble Horizons, 17 Cobble Road, Salisbury, Conn. www.noblehorizons.org
Fall Prevention and Balance Classes, Wednesdays, 10:30 to 11:30 a.m.

Norfolk Curling Club, 70 Golf Drive, Norfolk, Conn. www.norfolkcurlingclub.org 

Norfolk Hub, 2 Station Place, Norfolk, Conn. www.norfolkfoundation.net/norfolk-hub 

Norfolk Land Trust, Norfolk, Conn. www.norfolklandtrust.org

Norfolk Library, 9 Greenwoods Road East, Norfolk, Conn. www.norfolklibrary.org

NorthEast-Millerton Library, 75 Main St., Millerton N.Y. www.nemillertonlibrary.org 
Senior Friendship Center, Mondays to Thursdays, 10 a.m.

American Mahjong, Tuesdays, 1 p.m.

Northwest CT Rod & Gun Club, 148 South Canaan Road, North Canaan, Conn. nwctrgclub.clubexpress.com 

The Pilgrim House, 30 Granite Ave., North Canaan, Conn.

Pine Plains Free Library, 7775 South Main, Pine Plains, N.Y. www.pineplainslibrary.org
Gentle Yoga with Curt, Tuesdays, 1 to 2 p.m.

High Noon Tai Chi, Tuesdays, noon to 1 p.m.

Tech Time with Annie!, Fridays, 3 to 5 p.m.

Pittsfield Farmers Market, Pittsfield Common, 100 First St., Pittsfield, Mass. www.farmersmarketpittsfield.org 
Pittsfield Farmers Market Indoor Season at Zion Lutheran Church, Jan. 13, Feb. 10, March 9, April 13, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.

PS21 Chatham, 2980 Route 66, Chatham, N.Y. www.ps21chatham.org 

Roeliff Jansen Library, 9091 Route 22, Hillsdale, N.Y. www.roejanlibrary.org 
English-Language Tutoring by Appointment, Thursdays, 6 to 7:30 p.m.

Salisbury Association, Salisbury, Conn. www.salisburyassociation.org 

Salisbury Senior Center, 42 Ethan Allen St., Lakeville, Conn.

Salisbury Winter Sports Association, Salisbury, Conn. www.jumpfest.org 

Scoville Memorial Library, 38 Main St., Salisbury, Conn. www.scovillelibrary.org
Meditation with Kathy Voldstad, Tuesdays and Thursdays, 9 to 9:30 a.m.

Gentle Movement, Tuesdays, 8:30 to 9 a.m. 

Sharon Audubon Center, 325 Cornwall Bridge Road, Sharon, Conn. sharon.audubon.org 

Sharon Historical Society, 18 Main St., Sharon, Conn. www.sharonhist.org 

Sharon Park and Recreation, Sharon Town Hall, 63 Main St., Sharon, Conn.

Sheffield Historical Society, www.sheffieldhistory.org 

Silva et Pratum, www.silvaetpratum.net

Simsbury Airport, 94 Wolcott Road, Simsbury, Conn. www.simsburyairport.com 

Spencertown Academy Arts, 790 State Route 203, Spencertown, N.Y. www.spencertownacademy.org 

Stanford Free Library, 6035 Route 82, Stanfordville, N.Y. www.stanfordlibrary.org
Knitting, first, third and fifth Thursday of the month, 7 to 8:30 p.m.

Fiber Arts, first and third Tuesdays of the month, 7 p.m.

Brain Games, every Thursday, 10:30 a.m. to 12:15 p.m.

Water Color Workshop, first, third and fifth Tuesday of each month, 1 to 4 p.m.

Bridge, Mondays, 2 to 4 p.m.

Mahjong for Intermediate Players, Fridays, 10 a.m. to noon.

Yoga With Mia, Saturdays, 10 a.m.

FREE Classes for English Language Learners!, Mondays, 6 to 8 p.m.

The Stissing Center, 2950 Church St., Pine Plains, N.Y. www.thestissingcenter.org 

Taconic Learning Center, Lakeville, Conn. www.taconiclearningcenter.org 

Town of Kent, Conn.www.kentct.com 

Town of Millerton, N.Y.www.millertonpark.org 

Town of Norfolk, Conn.www.norfolkct.org

Town of North Canaan, Conn.www.northcanaan.org

Town of Sharon, Conn. www.sharonct.org 

Trade Secretswww.tradesecretsct.com 

Troutbeck, 515 Leedsville Road, Amenia, N.Y. www.troutbeck.com 

The Trustees of Reservations, www.thetrustees.org 

Ventfort Hall Mansion and Guilded Age Museum, 104 Walker St., Lenox, Mass. www.gildedage.org 

Warner Theatre, 68 Main St., Torrington, Conn. www.warnertheatre.org

A Weekend in Norfolk, Norfolk, Conn. www.weekendinnorfolk.org 

West Cornwall Farm Market, West Cornwall, Conn. www.cornwallfarmmarket.org 

The Workshop Experience, Hillsdale, N.Y. www.theworkshopexperience.org 

Latest News

Robert J. Pallone

NORFOLK — Robert J. Pallone, 69, of Perkins St. passed away April 12, 2024, at St. Vincent Medical Center. He was a loving, eccentric CPA. He was kind and compassionate. If you ever needed anything, Bob would be right there. He touched many lives and even saved one.

Bob was born Feb. 5, 1955 in Torrington, the son of the late Joesph and Elizabeth Pallone.

Keep ReadingShow less
The artistic life of Joelle Sander

"Flowers" by the late artist and writer Joelle Sander.

Cornwall Library

The Cornwall Library unveiled its latest art exhibition, “Live It Up!,” showcasing the work of the late West Cornwall resident Joelle Sander on Saturday, April 13. The twenty works on canvas on display were curated in partnership with the library with the help of her son, Jason Sander, from the collection of paintings she left behind to him. Clearly enamored with nature in all its seasons, Sander, who split time between her home in New York City and her country house in Litchfield County, took inspiration from the distinctive white bark trunks of the area’s many birch trees, the swirling snow of Connecticut’s wintery woods, and even the scenic view of the Audubon in Sharon. The sole painting to depict fauna is a melancholy near-abstract outline of a cow, rootless in a miasma haze of plum and Persian blue paint. Her most prominently displayed painting, “Flowers,” effectively builds up layers of paint so that her flurry of petals takes on a three-dimensional texture in their rough application, reminiscent of another Cornwall artist, Don Bracken.

Keep ReadingShow less
A Seder to savor in Sheffield

Rabbi Zach Fredman

Zivar Amrami

On April 23, Race Brook Lodge in Sheffield will host “Feast of Mystics,” a Passover Seder that promises to provide ecstasy for the senses.

“’The Feast of Mystics’ was a title we used for events back when I was running The New Shul,” said Rabbi Zach Fredman of his time at the independent creative community in the West Village in New York City.

Keep ReadingShow less