Talks

The Aldrich Contemporary Art Museum, 258 Main St., Ridgefield, Conn. www.thealdrich.org 

American Museum of Tort Law, 654 Main St, Winsted, Conn. www.tortmuseum.org 

Bardavon, 35 Market St., Poughkeepsie, N.Y. www.bardavon.org

Barrington Stage Company, 122 North St., Pittsfield, Mass. www.barringtonstageco.org 

Berkshire Art Center, 13 Willard Hill Road, Stockbridge, Mass. www.berkshireartcenter.org 

Berkshire Botanical Garden, 5 West Stockbridge Road, Stockbridge, Mass. www.berkshirebotanical.org 

Berkshire County Historical Society, 780 Holmes Road, Pittsfield, Mass. www.berkshirehistory.org 

Berkshire Museum, 39 South St. (Route 7), Pittsfield, Mass. www.berkshiremuseum.org 

Bidwell House Museum, 100 Art School Road, Monterey, Mass. www.bidwellhousemuseum.org 

Bushnell-Sage Library, 48 Main St., Sheffield, Mass. www.bushnellsagelibrary.org

Cary Institute of Ecosystem Studies, Millbrook, N.Y. www.caryinstitute.org 

The Clark Art Museum, 225 South St., Williamstown, Mass. www.clarkart.edu 
PERMANENT COLLECTION: WEEKLY GALLERY TOUR, Saturdays, 11:15 a.m. to 12:15 p.m.

Claverack Free Library, 629 NY-23B, Claverack, N.Y. www.claveracklibrary.org 

Conversations on the Greenwww.conversationsonthegreen.com 

Copake Grange, 628 Empire Road, Copake, N.Y. www.copakegrange.org 

Cornwall Conservation Trust, Cornwall, Conn. www.cornwallconservationtrust.org

The Cornwall Library, 30 Pine St., Cornwall, Conn. www.cornwalllibrary.org

D. M. Hunt Library, 63 Main Street, Falls Village, Conn. www.huntlibrary.org

Doolittle Lake Club House, 526 Doolittle Drive, Norfolk, Conn. 

Douglas Library, 108 Main St., Canaan, Conn. www.douglaslibrarycanaan.org 

Falls Village-Canaan Historical Society, Falls Village, Conn. www.fallsvillage-canaanhistoricalsociety.org 

Fisher Center at Bard, Annandale-on-Hudson, N.Y. fishercenter.bard.edu 

Five Points Center for the Visual Arts, 855 University Dr., Torrington, Conn. www.fivepointsarts.org 

Five Points Gallery, 33 Main St., Torrington, Conn. www.fivepointsarts.org 

Gunn Memorial Library & Museum, 5 Wykeham Road, Washington, Conn. www.gunnlibrary.org 

Hancock Shaker Village, 1843 West Housatonic St., Pittsfield, Mass. www.hancockshakervillage.org 

Hollister House Garden, 300 Nettleton Hollow Road, Washington, Conn. www.hollisterhousegarden.org 

Hotchkiss Library of Sharon, 10 Upper Main St., Sharon, Conn. www.hotchkisslibrary.org 

Hudson Hall, 327 Warren St, Hudson, N.Y. www.hudsonhall.org 

Innisfree Garden, 362 Tyrrel Road, Millbrook, N.Y. www.innisfreegarden.org 

The Institute for American Indian Studies Museum & Research Center, 38 Curtis Road, Washington, Conn. www.iaismuseum.org 

Jewish Federation of the Berkshires, Pittsfield, Mass. www.jewishberkshires.org
The Einstein Effect: How the World's Favorite Genius Got Into Our Bathrooms, Dec. 18, 7 to 8 p.m. (online).

Kent Art Association, 21 S. Main St., Kent, Conn. www.kentart.org 
“Second-Saturday Coffee and Art Talk”, every second Saturday of the month.

Kent Historical Society, Kent, Conn. www.kenthistoricalsociety.org 

Kent Memorial Library, 32 N. Main St., Kent, Conn. www.kentmemoriallibrary.org

The Litchfield Community Center, 421 Bantam Road, Litchfield, Conn. www.thecommunitycenter.org 

Mahaiwe Performing Arts Center, 14 Castle St., Great Barrington, Mass. www.mahaiwe.org 

MASS MoCA, 1320 MASS MoCA Way, North Adams, Mass. www.massmoca.org 

Mattatuck Museum, 144 West Main St. Waterbury, Conn. www.mattmuseum.org

Millbrook Library, 3 Friendly Lane, Millbrook, N.Y. www.millbrooklibrary.org

The Mount, 2 Plunkett St., Lenox, Mass. www.edithwharton.org

Music Mountain, 225 Music Mountain Road, Falls Village, Conn. www.musicmountain.org 

New Marlborough Meeting House, 154 Hartsville-New Marlborough Road, New Marlborough, Mass. www.nmmeetinghouse.org 

Noble Horizons, 17 Cobble Road, Salisbury, Conn. www.noblehorizons.org 
The JFK Assassination Lecture Series, Dec. 8, 15, Jan. 5, 19, 26, 10:30 a.m. to noon.

Norfolk Library, 9 Greenwoods Road East, Norfolk, Conn. www.norfolklibrary.org 

Norman Rockwell Museum, 9 Glendale Road, Stockbridge, Mass. www.nrm.org

NorthEast-Millerton Library, 75 Main St., Millerton N.Y. www.nemillertonlibrary.org 

Roeliff Jansen Library, 9091 Route 22, Hillsdale, N.Y. www.roejanlibrary.org 

Salisbury Association, Salisbury, Conn. www.salisburyassociation.org 

The Salisbury Forum, Salisbury, Conn. www.salisburyforum.org 

Scoville Memorial Library, 38 Main St., Salisbury, Conn. www.scovillelibrary.org 

Shakespeare & Company, 70 Kemble St., Lenox, Mass. www.shakespeare.org 

Sharon Audubon Center, 325 Cornwall Bridge Road, Sharon, Conn. sharon.audubon.org 

Sharon Historical Society, 18 Main St., Sharon, Conn. www.sharonhist.org 

Spencertown Academy Arts, 790 State Route 203, Spencertown, N.Y. www.spencertownacademy.org

Stanford Free Library, 6035 Route 82, Stanfordville, N.Y. www.stanfordlibrary.org 

Troutbeck, 515 Leedsville Road, Amenia, N.Y. www.troutbeck.com

Ventfort Hall Mansion and Guilded Age Museum, 104 Walker St., Lenox, Mass. www.gildedage.org 

Wadsworth Atheneum Museum of Art, 600 Main St., Hartford, Conn. www.thewadsworth.org 
Curator Talk | Talia Chetrit / MATRIX 193 with Jared Quinton, Dec. 15, 1 p.m.

Woodstock Artists Association & Museum, 28 Tinker St., Woodstock, N.Y. www.woodstockart.org 

Yale Norfolk School of Art, 20 Litchfield Road, Norfolk, Conn. norfolkart.yale.edu 

Latest News

Thru hikers linked by life on the Appalachian Trail

Riley Moriarty

Provided

Of thousands who attempt to walk the entire length of the Appalachian Trail, only one in four make it.

The AT, completed in 1937, runs over roughly 2,200 miles, from Springer Mountain in Georgia’s Chattahoochee-Oconee National Forest to Mount Katahdin in Baxter State Park of Maine.

Keep ReadingShow less
17th Annual New England Clambake: a community feast for a cause

The clambake returns to SWSA's Satre Hill July 27 to support the Jane Lloyd Fund.

Provided

The 17th Annual Traditional New England Clambake, sponsored by NBT Bank and benefiting the Jane Lloyd Fund, is set for Saturday, July 27, transforming the Salisbury Winter Sports Association’s Satre Hill into a cornucopia of mouthwatering food, live music, and community spirit.

The Jane Lloyd Fund, now in its 19th year, is administered by the Berkshire Taconic Community Foundation and helps families battling cancer with day-to-day living expenses. Tanya Tedder, who serves on the fund’s small advisory board, was instrumental in the forming of the organization. After Jane Lloyd passed away in 2005 after an eight-year battle with cancer, the family asked Tedder to help start the foundation. “I was struggling myself with some loss,” said Tedder. “You know, you get in that spot, and you don’t know what to do with yourself. Someone once said to me, ‘Grief is just love with no place to go.’ I was absolutely thrilled to be asked and thrilled to jump into a mission that was so meaningful for the community.”

Keep ReadingShow less
Getting to know our green neighbors

Cover of "The Light Eaters" by Zoe Schlanger.

Provided

This installment of The Ungardener was to be about soil health but I will save that topic as I am compelled to tell you about a book I finished exactly three minutes before writing this sentence. It is called “The Light Eaters.” Written by Zoe Schlanger, a journalist by background, the book relays both the cutting edge of plant science and the outdated norms that surround this science. I promise that, in reading this book, you will be fascinated by what scientists are discovering about plants which extends far beyond the notions of plant communication and commerce — the wood wide web — that soaked into our consciousnesses several years ago. You might even find, as I did, some evidence for the empathetic, heart-expanding sentiment one feels in nature.

A staff writer for the Atlantic who left her full-time job to write this book, Schlanger has travelled around the world to bring us stories from scientists and researchers that evidence sophisticated plant behavior. These findings suggest a kind of plant ‘agency’ and perhaps even a consciousness; controversial notions that some in the scientific community have not been willing or able to distill into the prevailing human-centric conceptions of intelligence.

Keep ReadingShow less