Dance

The Aldrich Contemporary Art Museum, 258 Main St., Ridgefield, Conn. www.thealdrich.org 

Beardsley Library, 40 Munro Place, Winsted, Conn. www.beardsleylibrary.org 

Berkshire Botanical Garden, 5 West Stockbridge Road, Stockbridge, Mass. www.berkshirebotanical.org

Berkshire Pulse, 420 Park St., Housatonic, Mass. www.berkshirepulse.org 

Berkshire Theatre Groupwww.berkshiretheatregroup.org 

Blue Studio Dance, 228 Sharon Road, Lakeville, Conn. www.bluestudiodance.com

Bushnell-Sage Library, 48 Main St., Sheffield, Mass. www.bushnellsagelibrary.org 
Ageless Yoga, Wednesdays, 2 to 3 p.m.

The Center for Performing Arts at Rhinebeck, 661 Route 308, Rhinebeck, N.Y. www.centerforperformingarts.org 

The Clark Art Museum, 225 South St., Williamstown, Mass. www.clarkart.edu 

Claverack Free Library, 629 NY-23B, Claverack, N.Y. www.claveracklibrary.org 
Tai Chi with David Haines, Tuesdays, 10 a.m.

Gentle Yoga, Thursdays, 10 a.m.

Energia Yoga with Daniela Bertol, Wednesdays, 5:30 to 6:30 p.m.

Copake Grange, 628 Empire Road, Copake, N.Y. www.copakegrange.org

Sheffield Contra Dance, Dewey Hall, 91 Main St., Sheffield Mass. sheffieldcontradance.wordpress.com
Contra Dance, Dec. 30, 6 to 9 p.m.

Fisher Center at Bard, Annandale-on-Hudson, N.Y. fishercenter.bard.edu 

Hancock Shaker Village, 1843 West Housatonic St., Pittsfield, Mass. www.hancockshakervillage.org 

Hollister House Garden, 300 Nettleton Hollow Road, Washington, Conn. www.hollisterhousegarden.org 

Hudson Hall, 327 Warren St, Hudson, N.Y. www.hudsonhall.org
Kwanzaa - Operation Unite NY, Dec. 16, 5 p.m.

Innisfree Garden, 362 Tyrrel Road, Millbrook, N.Y. www.innisfreegarden.org 

The Institute for American Indian Studies Museum & Research Center, 38 Curtis Road, Washington, Conn. www.iaismuseum.org 

Jacob's Pillow, 358 George Carter Road, Becket, Mass. www.jacobspillow.org

Kaatsbaan Cultural Park, 120 Broadway, Tivoli, N.Y. www.kaatsbaan.org 

Mahaiwe Performing Arts Center, 14 Castle St., Great Barrington, Mass. www.mahaiwe.org 

MASS MoCA, 1320 MASS MoCA Way, North Adams, Mass. www.massmoca.org

Mattatuck Museum, 144 West Main St. Waterbury, Conn. www.mattmuseum.org 
Chair Yoga, Thursdays, 9 to 10 a.m.

Millbrook Arts Group, Millbrook, N.Y. www.millbrookartsgroup.org 

Millbrook Library, 3 Friendly Lane, Millbrook, N.Y. www.millbrooklibrary.org 
Senior Exercise Program, Tuesdays and Thursdays, 9 a.m.

The Mount, 2 Plunkett St., Lenox, Mass. www.edithwharton.org 

The Moviehouse, 48 Main St., Millerton, N.Y. www.themoviehouse.net 

Noble Horizons, 17 Cobble Road, Salisbury, Conn. www.noblehorizons.org 

Norfolk Library, 9 Greenwoods Road East, Norfolk, Conn. www.norfolklibrary.org 

Paula Josa-Joneswww.paulajosajones.org 

PS21 Chatham, 2980 Route 66, Chatham, N.Y. www.ps21chatham.org 

Race Brook Lodge, 864 Undermountain Road, Sheffield, Mass. www.rblodge.com

Sharon Playhouse, 49 Amenia Road, Sharon, Conn. www.sharonplayhouse.org 

Spencertown Academy Arts, 790 State Route 203, Spencertown, N.Y. www.spencertownacademy.org 
“Like Swimming in Air” - The Art of Tai Chi for Beginners, Thursdays Oct. 19 to Jan. 18, 12:30 to 1:30 p.m.

The Stissing Center, 2950 Church St., Pine Plains, N.Y. www.thestissingcenter.org 

Town of Cornwall, Conn. www.cornwallct.org 

Wadsworth Atheneum Museum of Art, 600 Main St., Hartford, Conn. www.thewadsworth.org
CONNetic Dance | Nutcracker Suite & Spicy, Dec. 15, 16, 8 p.m., Dec. 17, 2 p.m.

Warner Theatre, 68 Main St., Torrington, Conn. www.warnertheatre.org 

The Workshop Experience, Hillsdale, N.Y. www.theworkshopexperience.org 

Latest News

All kinds of minds at Autism Nature Trail

Natalia Zukerman playing for a group of school children at the Autism Nature Trail.

Loren Penmann

At Letchworth State Park in Castile, N.Y. the trees have a secret: they whisper to those who listen closely, especially to those who might hear the world differently. This is where you can find the Autism Nature Trail, or ANT, the first of its kind in this country, perhaps in the world. Designed for visitors on the autism spectrum, the ANT is a one-mile looped trail with eight stations at various intervals, little moments strung together, allowing visitors to experience everything from stillness to wild adventure.

The idea for the ANT was born from a conversation in 2014 between Loren Penman, a retired teacher and administrator, and her neighbor. The two women were discussing the new nature center at the park and Penman’s neighbor said that her grandson, who loved the park, probably wouldn’t be able to enjoy a nature center. He had autism and at age seven was still without language and in a state of almost constant agitation. Her neighbor went on to say, however, that she had observed her grandson finding great calm at Letchworth, a state of being he couldn’t achieve almost anywhere else. Speaking to another friend with an autistic grandchild, Penman heard the same sentiment about Letchworth; it completely calmed her grandchild. What was it about this special place that soothed the spirit?

Keep ReadingShow less
Snakes in the Catskills: A primer

The Cary Institute of Ecosystem Studies in collaboration with the Catskill Science Collaborative, presented “Snakes in the Catskills: A Primer,” the latest in its lecture series, on June 5. Presenter John Vanek, is a zoologist at the New York Natural Heritage Program in Syracuse, NY. The snake above is a harmless Northern Brown Snake. They are known as a “gardener’s friend” because they eat snails, slugs, and worms.

John Vanek

The Cary Institute of Ecosystem Studies in collaboration with the Catskill Science Collaborative, presented “Snakes in the Catskills: A Primer,” the latest in its lecture series, on June 5. Presenter John Vanek, is a zoologist at the New York Natural Heritage Program in Syracuse.

There are thirteen kinds of snakes in the Catskills. Only two are venomous. Vanek defined the Catskills area as including the counties of Greene, Delaware, Ulster, Sullivan, and Dutchess.

Keep ReadingShow less
Brunch at Troutbeck: Black Emmer Pancakes

Black Emmer Pancakes by Chef Vincent Gilberti at Troutbeck.

Jim Henkens

At Troutbeck, every meal is an experience, but Sundays have taken on a special charm with the highly anticipated return of brunch. Impeccably sourced, plentiful, elegant yet approachable, and immensely satisfying, the brunch menu reflects the essence of Troutbeck’s culinary philosophy. Available every Sunday, brunch complements the existing offerings of three meals a day, seven days a week, all open to the public.

The culinary program at Troutbeck is led by Executive Chef Vincent Gilberti, who honors the natural landscape through thoughtful and seasonal cuisine. “We launched brunch in February,” said Chef Vinny, as he’s affectionately known. “It’s been a goal of mine to add brunch since returning to Troutbeck as executive chef last year. Before my time here and before the pandemic, we had a bustling and fun brunch program, and while we’ve all returned to ‘normalcy,’ brunch was something we wanted to get back in the mix.” Chef Vinny hails from the Hudson Valley and brings with him a wealth of experience from some of New York City’s most celebrated restaurants, including Pulino’s, Battersby, and Dover. After a stint in San Francisco’s SPQR, where he honed his pasta-making skills, Chef Vinny has returned to Troutbeck with a renewed passion for the farm-to-table philosophy.

Keep ReadingShow less